FREE CASE REVIEW
Workers who suffer job-related injuries or illness in Florida may be eligible to recover benefits that cover a portion of their lost wages. The benefits can be available on a temporary or permanent basis. The amount is based on a percentage of what the worker was paid prior to going on workers’ compensation. Unfortunately, it is not unusual for an employer or their insurance company to dispute the facts of a case or the extent of a worker’s disability.
Workers’ compensation claims attorney Frank M. Eidson can help if your claim for lost wage benefits is disputed. He has decades of experience in this area of the law and a record of helping workers to obtain the lost wage benefits they deserve.
To learn more, contact Frank M. Eidson, P.A., today and arrange for a free consultation about your case. Our firm serves clients throughout Winter Park, Orlando and other areas in Central Florida.
Florida’s workers’ compensation system pays lost wage benefits that, in most cases, equal two-thirds (66.6 percent) of the injured or ill worker’s weekly pay prior to their injury or illness. This amount is not to exceed the average weekly wage in Florida.
Lost wage benefits are paid after a worker has been out of work for seven calendar days. Once the worker has been out of work for more than 21 days, he or she can receive benefits for the first week of missed work.
Payment checks are sent bi-weekly (every other week) and should begin about 21 days after the employer’s insurance carrier is notified of the worker’s injury or illness.
Lost wage benefits are allowed for either temporary or permanent disability. They include:
To obtain workers’ compensation benefits, an injured worker must see a doctor provided by their employer’s workers’ compensation insurer. This doctor decides the extent of the worker’s injury or illness and related disability. The insurer’s doctor also decides whether the worker has reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) and/or can return to work.
Typically, disputes arise either before benefits are awarded, or at some point when the doctor decides an injured employee is ready to return to work.
As the injured or ill employee, you can appeal any rulings pertaining to your workers’ comp claim. This requires providing evidence, testimony and/or witnesses before a judge in a hearing. Your employer’s insurer can provide their own evidence and testimony and question your witnesses.
If a Florida employer is disputing your eligibility for workers’ compensation lost wage benefits, contact Frank M. Eidson, P.A. Our law firm will protect your rights and work hard to pursue the benefits you need due to your work-related injury or illness.
Sources / More Information